This Book Hurt to Read, But the Lessons Were Invaluable

If you have a pulse, you need to read this book.

Adara Mitchell
4 min readNov 22, 2021
Photo by Beauty Matinez

Recently I have got back into reading, actually around this time last year. It has been fun rediscovering this hobby of mine. That is until I joined BookTok and ended up with more books on my to be read than I could afford to buy at once.

Though I do not mind, if I had not joined Booktok, I would have never discovered the gift that is Colleen Hoover. Many of Hoover’s books circulate Booktok, e.g., November 9 and Ugly Love, are widely discussed. Despite this, her novel, It Ends With Us, takes the cake.

This book has shown up on my for you page more times than I can count. I thought this book was a lighthearted book about a love triangle. So I decided to read it—I wish I knew I was getting myself into, but I did not.

It Ends With Us is a heart-wrenching novel that tackles the painful truths about the devastations of domestic violence.

Synopsis

“Fifteen seconds. That’s all it takes to completely change everything about a person. Fifteen seconds that we’ll never get back.”

This novel follows Lily Bloom, who moves away from her hometown of Maine and starts her own business, a contemporary flower shop. Amid this endeavor…

--

--

Adara Mitchell

An introvert way too obsessed with the world of fiction. I write about topics that interest me and upload them to the internet. https://linktr.ee/adaramitchell